The league was founded in 1996 after the Beijin Conference of 1995 by Dr Esther Uduehi to mobilize women generally especially at the grass root levels and to support women rights groups in this direction. Dr Uduehi thereafter invited some other women including Mrs Joyce Aluko, Mrs Eno Irukwu, Prof Jade Akande, Justice Funmilayo Oni-Okpaku, Barr Ndidi Edewor, Tinu Akomolafe Wilson, Chief Julie Ade-Cole, Barr Josephine Anenih, Mrs Roseline Osunde and Mrs Henrietta Agun to name a few to join her in this venture. NILOWV was officially registered in 1998.

NILOWV aims to help accelerate the participation of women in all works of life through providing education and empowerment for our women and has in fact helped with the empowerment some Nigerian women.

Be part of our amazing team!